News and Announcements


The Saanich Express are seeking sponsorship for the upcoming 2019 season. The Express are members of the Pacific Northwest Junior Lacrosse League which teams are: the Campbell River Ravens, Cowichan Thunder, Nanaimo Timbermen, Oceanside Sharks, Saanich Express and the Westshore Bears.

The Express are seeking sponsors to assist with the equipping and operating of our local team and to assist in keeping the costs low for our players aged (17-21). With members of our team residing in all South Island communities; we are well represented by great athletes from Vancouver Island.

If you would like to contribute to our program for the 2019 season or beyond, we have a number of avenues in which you can sponsor: program advertising, arena banner advertising, game day sponsors, warm-up shirts, travel shirts, game shorts, individual jersey sponsorships, full set jersey sponsorships, equipment sponsorships (gloves and/or helmets), and sponsoring a team activity or event.

If you would like to discuss any of these opportunities or have another in mind, please contact Tyson Leies via email (GM – or by phone (250) 216-1131; Andrea Churchill (Governor – or Bryan Kish (Director of Corporate Sponsorships – / (250) 896-1355)).


The Saanich Express would like to invite all graduating midgets (drafted or undrafted) from Saanich, Peninsula, Victoria-Esquimalt, all returning players from last season’s team and those whom tried out last season as well as… any Junior A or B1 player who would like to get some extra time in before or during their own respective teams conditioning/practice sessions.

We will be at Keating Elementary School Gymnasium (Feb. 4, 6, 11 and 13th) and then Claremont Secondary School’s small gymnasium (Feb. 19, 21, 26, 28th and then Mar. 5, 7, 12, and 14th); all times from 7:30pm-9:00pm. No lacrosse sticks will be required during the first 4 sessions at Keating Elementary.

All participants will need to fill out a “Senior Practice Form” which is located on our website under the Media tab, then documents link.

Any questions or for further information, please contact:

Andrea Churchill (Governor)
Tyson Leies (General Manager)


The Saanich Express are pleased to announce the acquisition of goaltender Damien Spaven from the Westshore Bears.
The Bears and Express agreed to a deal early in the 2018 season that sent 5th year player Jordan Wendt to the Bears in exchange for future considerations. The acquiring of Damien concludes the aforementioned trade.

Damien was the deciding factor in last years semi-final playoffs between the Bears and Express as he shut the door in both playoff games that eliminated the Express from the playoffs. Damien went on to win a bronze medal with the Bears at Provincials but saw limited playing time in the tournament.

“I’m extremely excited to be playing for the Express” stated the young net minder. “It is hard to get in to a rhythm when you don’t know which night you will be playing. But being told I am coming in to a 2 goalie system, makes me excited to know I am dressing every game,” concluded Spaven.

“We knew we were losing Nolan Tytgat to graduation this season and we weren’t sure if any goalies from Saanich or free agent areas were going to be selected in this years’ draft or if they were going to try out for a Junior A or B1 team to start the season; so we negotiated and got the goalie that stymied us in the playoffs.” claimed General Manager Tyson Leies. "With only 3 graduating players (Nolan Tytgat, Jaycob Dhillon and Dan Barrodale) and doing as well as they did last season, the Express are laying rail early in 2019 to prepare for the upcoming season.

The Express will begin conditioning and game sessions early in February to give players an opportunity to reacquaint themselves with one another and meet potential new teammates prior to on floor tryouts. Those dates will be confirmed shortly.

Welcome Aboard Damien Spaven!


The Saanich Express would like to congratulate the following players selected in this years’ 2019 BCJALL Midget Draft.

Round 1
3. Victoria (Via 2019 Trade with Poco) – Kyle Pepper, Saanich Tigers

Round 2
9. Nanaimo (Via 2017 Trade with Burnaby) – Jackson Bowie, Peninsula Warriors
10. Nanaimo – Levi Verch, Saanich Tigers
12. Nanaimo (VIa 2019 Trade with Langley) – Patrick Wong, Saanich Tigers
13. Nanaimo (Via 2018 Trade with Victoria) – Riley Arsenault, Saanich Tigers

Round 3
21. Victoria – Joseph Zerr, Peninsula Warriors
24. Nanaimo (Via 2018 Trade with Coquitlam) – Riley Mace, Saanich Tigers

Round 5
37. Victoria – Graham Goodfellow, Saanich Tigers
40. Nanaimo (Via 2018 Trade with Coquitlam) – Nikolaos Lepessis, Saanich Tigers

Round 6
45. Victoria – Tyler Johnston, Peninsula Warriors
48. Coquitlam – Mason Lo, Peninsula Warriors

To those players not selected in this years draft; we encourage you to attend any Junior A or B1 training camp in hopes of making one of those programs. If any drafted or undrafted players are not selected to a Jr. A or B1 program, the Saanich Express Jr. B Lacrosse Club would like to invite you to our preseason training sessions starting in February and our main camp in March.

For more information about the Express, please contact us at

Saanich Express Team Awards

Posted by Saanich Express at Sep 27, 2018 8:43PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

The Saanich Express wish to announce their team award winners from the 2018 PNWJLL season. Each and every player (rostered and affiliated player) bonded as a team throughout the season and finished in 2nd place in regular season play. This was a tremendous first season for the Express under new ownership and with only a handful of returning players.

The awards ceremony took place on Saturday, September 15th at the Tsawout First Nations – Gym and Multi-Purpose Room. All in attendance enjoyed a tremendous array of potluck dishes and a wonderful Baron of Beef dinner supplied by our wonderful sponsor, the Local (located at 1205 Wharf Street in downtown Victoria.

This seasons winners are as follows:

Most Valuable Player: Zack Dhillon & Nolan Tytgat
Top Scorer: John Etzel Jr.
Rookie of the Year: Brayden Flynn
Most Improved: Andre Snow
Most Sportsmanlike Player: Carter Wood & Bryan Toth
Unsung Hero: Matt Caseley
Top Defender: Jonny Harmsworth
Outstanding Dedication: Jorden Tytgat
Coaches Award (Offence): Riley Condon
Coaches Award (Defence): Noah Ackinclose
Leadership Award: Dan Barrodale
Volunteer of the Year: Doug Walker

The Express would also like to thank the number of volunteers (Gary Johansen (Pictures), Marilyn Johansen, Keri Ward, Klaire & Aubree, Jacquie Churchill, Gloria Tytgat, Christy Tytgat, Deanna Rivers, Bobbi Walker, and Doug Walker). We would also like to thank our “Game Day” staff; John Charlesworth (Announcer), Newman (Announcer – Playoffs), Kevin Bendall (Scorekeeper), Jimmy Hansen (Timekeeper), and the shot clock contigent of young officials.

A big thank you to our fabulous coaching staff (Colin Bell, Darcy Tytgat, Tyson Leies, Charlie Rivers and Bob Harmsworth for bringing our team a long way in such a short period of time.

Lastly, a “HUGE” shout out to our numerous program, game day and jersey sponsors! This team was able to achieve a number of goals this season because of the wonderful support it received from you. Thank you!

Pictures of the banquet can be found by going to the drop down menu in our navigation bar under “Team”.